Slime-San Review

When I first saw that adorable green little bugger I didn’t really know what to expect. Then I hit “Start” and it was clear that this cute slime was in for one of those fast paced, constant dying, platforming type of adventure.

I excel at platforming games when I’m not under the clock and near death. Classics such as Mario, Sonic & the newest Rayman games are my safe haven where I feel like a platforming god! Slime-San does a great job of ruining my ego in regards to this.

2

The story is all you’ll expect from a game of this caliber, and helps give purpose to the environment. Slime-San lives in a peaceful forest but one day a giant worm eats him up. These levels take place inside that worm which lends to the great design of each one. You succeed by getting through 5 worlds with 20 stages each of inner gutting glory. Each one ending with absolutely fantastically designed boss battles

The gameplay is fast paced just blink and you’ll die. The pacing is good though, as someone who doesn’t play this type of platformer (think Super Meat Boy) it did a good job at slowly raising the difficulty level. I find myself pulling off moves that I wouldn’t have thought possible when I first started the game. What makes the levels great is that there isn’t one specific way to beat it. If there was I would stand here with a broken Nintendo Switch. If you can think it then you can make it happen within the control parameters. You can simply get to the end of the level and move on to the next one or if you’re a completionist you can collect green apples and find secret passages

9

The controls themselves help make the gameplay so fluid. Everything works the way you want it to and when you really get into the deep of it you’ll start hitting buttons purely based on reflex. Quite the feeling. Collecting green apples while tough will help you progress as you can purchase.

One of the most appealing things about Slime-San is the artistic style behind it. You can tell there are only a limited amount of colors used but it works so well in building this world. The outer frame showing the walls of the worm & all the gut looking imagery was just candy to my eyes.

And then theres the music. Oh. My. God! The music is your typical chip-tune fare but my dear lord if it isn’t some of the best I’ve ever heard. Composers these days are really topping themselves. Shovel Knight, Flinthook and now Slime-San all have AMAZING soundtracks that you will just want to listen to over and over again (and you will with the amount o times you’ll die).


Conclusion

As I mentioned previously I am not usually into these type of twitchy platformers and I still dont think I am. However Slime-San is a special exception. If other games can match the pace and curve that this does then I would be opened to trying those as well. This game caught me completely by surprise and I think is the perfect fit for Nintendo Switch. Pick it up, play a few levels and put it back down before snapping your joy-cons in half! Highly recommended. If you’re a fan of fluid & addictive gameplay I cannot recommend this enough. BUY THIS!


DEVELOPER: FABRAZ

PUBLISHER: HEADUP GAMES

RELEASE DATE: AUGUST 3RD, 2017

AVAILABLE ON: PC (STEAM) & NINTENDO SWITCH (XBOX ONE & PS4 COMING SOON)

DISCLAIMER: THIS GAME WAS PROVIDED BY THE PUBLISHER FOR REVIEW PURPOSES


Leave a Reply

